Technical Standards Committee

The Technical Standards Committee for BTC contains eight of the top radio industry engineers and IT professionals from the founding BTC Member organizations.


Alex RomanAlex Roman
Emmis Communications

Alex Roman is the Director of Integrated Technologies for Emmis Communications in New York City. He is responsible for broadcast engineering and IT for Emmis's four radio stations in the New York market and has been a radio engineer for over 20 years.

Alex previously worked with Citadel Broadcasting and Clear Channel in New York and also worked in Sacramento, Santa Barbara, Ventura, and Los Angeles, CA prior to relocating to the east coast. Recent projects for Emmis include the complete reconstruction of the company's Empire State Building transmitter site, construction of a new auxiliary facility at 4 Times Square, a rebuild and relicensing of WLIB 1190 AM under Method of Moments rules, and modernization of the cluster studio facility. Alex represented the market's broadcasters in the design and construction of a new 19-station auxiliary antenna and combiner system on Empire.



Roz ClarkRoz Clark
Cox Media Group

Roswell Clark is presently the Director of Technical Operations and Systems Administrator for Cox Media Group’s 12 radio stations in the Tampa and Orlando markets. He has been a radio engineer for over 25 years. Within Cox, he has chaired several committees including; IT security standardization, Automation systems standardization, RF Safety Policy, and Data Transmission.

Roz’s industry involvements include participation in various NRSC standards committees, MSRC (Media Security and Reliability Council), and NAB presentations on Disaster Planning and Recovery and Data Delivery over FM. Recent projects for Cox Radio include the design and construction of the Cox Radio six station consolidated studio facility, the design and construction of a combined transmitter site for 94.9FM and 101.5FM and the supervision and installation of HD transmission equipment.



Mike CooneyMike Cooney
Beasley Broadcast Group, Inc.

Mike Cooney is the Vice President and Chief Technology Officer of Beasley Broadcast Group, Inc. He is responsible for the general supervision and management / oversight of all engineering, IT, all technology matters for Beasley’s forty-four radio station portfolio and manage the capital budget. Mike is a 25 year engineering veteran of the radio industry.

Mike spent eight years as Director of Engineering / IT for Entercom Radio in Kansas City and Assistant Vice President of Engineering for Video Masters and AVI Systems. His previous broadcast experience includes five years as corporate chief engineer for Radio One Broadcasting, and four years as Assistant Chief Engineer for South Dakota Public Broadcasting. He is a member of the NAB FAST ROAD Technical Committee and the 2009 & 2010 NAB Broadcast Engineering Conference Committee.

Dave GarnerDave Garner
Bonneville International

Dave has been in broadcast engineering for over 35 years.  He holds a BS degree from the University of Maryland and has had his Professional Broadcast Engineer certification from SBE since 1991.  I am a member of IEEE.  I have been director of engineering at WTOP radio group in Washington DC since 1980, and director of engineering for Bonneville International Corp since 2009.





Alex KeddieAlex Keddie

Alex Keddie is the Corporate Regional Engineer for Entercom and Director of Engineering, EOC/FCC Officer for Entercom Indianapolis. Alex brings with him 40 years of diversified radio broadcasting experience:  News, On-air, Promotions, Research, Sales, Chief Engineer, Director of Engineering, VP General Manager, VP Director of Operations & Ownership 5 Radio Stations, GM of Outdoor Advertising and Commercial Real Estate Properties

Alex has diverse membership across many organizations: Society of Broadcast Engineers, America Radio Relay League, Quarter Century Wireless, Vietnam Veterans of America, Life member Disabled American Veterans, Military Order of Purple Heart, Veteran of Foreign Wars, Divers Alert Network, International Association of Nitrox and Technical Divers, USA Hockey-Level 3 Coach. Alex also serves on several local community boards.

Mr. Keddie’s education includes: A.S. EET, B.S. from Butler University, he is a former Military Officer, and has an FCC General Class Radiotelephone License, Amateur Extra Class License.


Jobie SprinkleJobie Sprinkle

Jobie Sprinkle is the Director of Engineering/IT for WFAE in Charlotte, N.C. Since 1990, Jobie has managed the station’s broadcast and computer operations as well as four radio signals, WFAE in Charlotte and WFHE in Hickory, N.C., and two translators in Laurinburg, N.C., and Southern Pines, N.C. Between 2004 and 2005, he directed WFAE’s studio conversion to full digital operations and conversion of WFAE/WFHE to HD Digital Radio broadcasting.

Prior to his work with WFAE, Jobie spent time in Asheville, N.C., as Director of Engineering at WCQS, Operations Director at WISE and Chief Engineer at WWNC. Jobie is a founding executive board member, former president, vice-president, and secretary of the Association of Public Radio Engineers (APRE). He currently serves as the immediate past president for APRE. He is also a member of NPR’s Public Radio Engineering Advisory Committee.


Milford SmithJohn Soller
Radio One

John started in Radio at Cincinnati's Taft Broadcasting in 1979. He later became the Director of Engineering for then Osborn Communications which transitioned into a role as Director of Engineering, Southern Star division for Capstar when Osborn Communications was sold. With the eventual merging of Capstar with AMFM, John decided to return to his home town of Cincinnati, Ohio and join Blue Chip Broadcasting as VP of Engineering which was later purchased by Radio One.

John has added another ten years of experience with Radio One in addition to his previous broadcasting positions and brings a wealth of engineering knowedge to the BTC Technical Committee.



Alex Roman - Emmis Communications

Roz Clark - Cox Radio

Mike Cooney – Beasley Broadcast Group, Inc.

Dave Garner – Bonneville International

Alex Keddie – Entercom

Jobie Sprinkle – WFAE

John Soller - Radio One



BTC Participants

Board of Managers

Technical Standards Commitee